No Ban! No Wall!

 

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

My First Protest Experience

My Sunday morning started like any other college student. Yep, by doing the homework I had been putting off all week. After I pried myself off the bed, I did my morning ritual of checking the day’s trending hashtags on twitter. Battery Park was trending and I was almost 100% sure I had heard that name before. To my pleasant surprise I read there would be a protest at Battery Park in NYC due to “President” Trump’s executive order from earlier in the weekend. The rally started at 2PM so I finished eating (Chinese food of course), bundled up, and headed out the door. My cousin refused to go with me so this was a solo endeavor.

 

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

I am still new to the city so I was a little hesitant to begin this journey alone, but as I got closer and closer to Battery Park my worries melted away. After a few wrong turns and a little bit of prayer I approached the park. Now this was a very important part of my trip. I heard the crowd before I saw the crowd. As I joined the rest of the crowd listening to the speakers, I felt a sense of belonging. I was a part of something bigger than myself supporting a cause I strongly believe in. Some signs were hilarious, and others were a little much, but that was expected.

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

My father came to this country when he was 8 years old. If there was an immigration ban I would not be here today. You have to think about where you come from, where your family comes from. You have to realize your privilege and be eternally grateful to live in this beautiful country. As I stood alone in this crowd I thanked God for allowing me to be a citizen of a country that allows their people to protest and have free speech. We often take for granted things we have grown accustomed to. Fight for these rights and exercise those same rights because there are people and places that do not allow this.

 

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

The energy was amazing and I am glad I could be a part of history. I will definitely be at the next protest. Maybe with enough time to prepare a sign. Be on the right side of history folks. See you next week.

Leave a Reply

